WittyChicks Stumble All Over Us!Home

Wednesday, August 13, 2008

Prince Albert in a Can

This may be only funny to me - but you can all pretend to laugh.

It started last Tuesday, about 1:00 in the morning we a get a phone call. Luke answers and he's all confused, then he hangs up. He looks at me puzzled and said, "Prince Albert in a can??" And I said, "Oh - prank phone call -- you know? Better let him out?"

That was that, went back to bed. Let me mention here though that middle of the night prank phone calls are NOT funny when you have a family member who is ill and you're always afraid that those calls are "the" call.

ANYWAY...I digress.

Thursday, midday, I get a call. "Hello?" I say.

"Hi" says the post-pubescent boy at the other end as if he knows me.

"Hi." I say, assuming wrong number. I don't know any teen boys.

Him: Do you have Prince Albert in a can?

Me: Do you even know what Prince Albert in a can is?

Him: (pause) No.

Me: Well, maybe you should find out before you start calling people and asking if they have it.

Him: What is it?

Me: I'm not telling you, but you may just be embarrassed if you knew what it was and you're asking strangers if they have it. Why don't you go look it up and call me back when you jknow what it is.

Him: Okay, bye.

*** At this point I'm laughing. It was pretty funny. But then I realize I don't know what Prince Albert in a can is - so I call my mom quick-like. I thought it was sardines or something - she says its tobacco. PHONE RINGS ***

Me: Hello?

Him: We found out what it is.

Me: It's tobacco. (like I knew all along)

Him: Tobasco?

Me: No, tobacco.

Him: What's that?

Me: I'm old enough to know what tobacco is, apparently you're not.

Him: How old are you?

Me: Old.

Him: Well, maybe we're college boys. (HA!!)

Me: If you were college boys you'd know what tobacco was. Now, if you don't mind, I have three kids to take care of so please find a new number to call - okay?

Him: Okay. (humbled)

*********

That was it - it was pretty funny. Pathetic really. Then I called the phone company and asked how to activate the private call rejection thing (*77 on Qwest if you wondered). So, that's that. It was comical, but I should have yelled at him for scaring the crap out of us a few days before. That's not funny.